Guys…I really don’t want to go back to Uni =(

I know it doesn’t seem like a big deal and everyone is saying to me how wonderful Uni life is but I think everyone else seems to be on another planet. I officially start on the 1st October but I have to go in on Thursday for a “Returners Meeting”. Whatever that is.

Don’t get me wrong, I was SO excited to go at the beginning of the course but now that I’m going into my second year, I’m slightly less enthusiastic. I’ve decided that I don’t want to be a slimy Music Manager/Svengali type character anyway so I’m kind of struggling to see the point of me carrying this on this course. I’d also made the decision to change courses to go and do law instead but because I now have to pay £9000 in school fees, I have no choice really but to stay on my current course and do a conversion degree afterwards. I’m really annoyed that I’m being made to finish it.

Well of course, there is the small matter that if I don’t finish my course, not only will my parents be absolutely furious (Asian parents…gotta love it) but I won’t be able to get onto a Law GDL Conversion course afterwards. And I need to work extra hard to get a 1st Degree to get into the right school. It’s not that I don’t want to be a lawyer (trust me I really really do), but I’ve been fighting against it for SO long. You have no idea. My parents have been begging me to do a law degree since I was 11!!

I guess this is why I’m a little disappointed in myself because I feel I’ve become a bit of a corporate sell out. If I told my 16 year old self that I’d eventually become a solicitor, I think she would have stabbed me.

Whatever. Fuck her. I love money too much and I want too much stuff to be poor.

I’m sure everything will all be peachy when I finish all my training but it’s going to take like 5 fucking years!

I have to finish this degree. But I don’t have to be happy about it.

Leave a Reply

