Life Lessons through Video Games – Assassin’s Creed 3

I’m sorry that I haven’t been posting as regularly as I was a few weeks ago. Real life always seems to get in the way and it’s hard to get time for myself to sit down, relax and write. Basically, my Grandad passed away this weekend so it’s been pretty emotional for all my family. I was feeling a bit down yesterday and had spent the entire evening stuffing my face full of key-lime cheese cake and cooking to take my mind off everything.

As I was staring blankly at whatever crap was on E4, my boyfriend and flat mate (I can only suppose), sensed that I was a bit upset. I was really trying to not let anything affect me. I hate being pitied more than anything in the world. But that’s why they are so great because they don’t try and fob me off with cliché bullshit. Instead, they said: “Assassin’s Creed 3 is out tonight, let’s watch a review and see if it’s any good”.

I’m a sucker for reviews and Video Game production documentaries so I was like: “Hell fucking yes”. After a few minutes in, it became apparent to me that I had to own this game. ASAP. After bullying my boyfriend into coming with me to Blockbusters to purchase the title, we also picked up Child of Eden for £4.99. Blockbusters is fucking awesome, though it is looking a little sad and worn out. Shame really. I’ll be sad when they all close down. I’ve posted the IGN review just below so you guys can check it out too.

Assassin’s Creed III – IGN Video Review

Haytham Kenway, the father of our main character whom I have yet to see…

Anyway, we ran home with the two games clutched to my chest. Ask my boyfriend, I was practically bouncing up and down with excitement. It was lucky really that we live so close to the shop or I think I would have popped like a balloon. And don’t worry, I’m going to do a separate post for Child of Eden because that game is also, SO SO beautiful.

Ok, for those not familiar with the Assassin’s Creed Franchise, never fear. There is a 20 minute intro to the game where it explains everything from start to finish. You don’t necessarily need to know the stories of the last 2 games in order to play this one.

This isn’t meant to be an in depth review so I’ll just jump right into my initial impressions. Firstly, I would describe the world as completely breathtaking. The guys at Ubisoft have properly stepped up their game! At the moment, we have only just made it to the Frontier so we have only really seen Boston but my god! Its so much fun. The town actually looks like a town, if you know what I mean. The other Assassin’s Creeds were good and the environments and set dressing was fantastic but my flatmate pointed out, quite rightly, that everything was positioned rather too conveniently making it seem like a more manufactured ‘play pit’.

Secondly, the characters (so far) are freaking kick ass. My boyfriend is in love with the fighting system and the kills are so brutal. It makes you feel so awesome. Not only that but the opening scene at the London Opera House was cinematic, tense and the environment was so so stunning. I’ve just spent half an hour looking for a picture but there’s none on Google images yet. I’ll see if I can work out how to do a screen grab from Xbox but don’t hold your breath. Buy the goddamn game. lol.

Thirdly, PIRATES AND A BATTLE AT SEA! Instead of saving it for somewhere in the middle of the game, the designers decided to put it right at the beginning which hugely surprised and captivated us from the moment the scene started to play. Accompanied by an epic battle at sea, mutinous ship mates and general sea dog banter was just awesome. Thank you Assassin’s Creed.

Suffice to say, playing this game cheered me up greatly. Who said retail therapy doesn’t help? Now to play some more…tonight…hahaha…Watch this space!

2 thoughts on “Life Lessons through Video Games – Assassin’s Creed 3

  1. I had a feeling that captured Native American maid was going to fall for Haytham’s rugged charms… You actually pointed out much that I loved about the game, too. I should be MORE POSITIVE!

  2. *oof* Haytham Kenway. I’m slightly attracted and I’ve no idea why. Must be his voice and the fact he could kill you in about 500 different ways.

Leave a Reply

