First day as a Master’s student

image

Today marks my first day as a masters student. After arsing around trying to find something to do for years, I believe that this is finally something that I’m sure about.

I’m feeling really optimistic about this opportunity because, believe it or not, I’m actually looking forward to getting stressed out over my dissertation project for the year.

I think a lot of people feel lost at some point in their life wondering whether they could have done something better but I don’t think I’ll regret post graduate school. I mean, up until about 3 years ago, I was hell bent on being a musician. Now, I get to write about whatever I want – I still have all my school holidays to do whatever I want.

It’s frightening because over the years, I’ve changed my mind so often as to what I want to be doing with my life. As you reach your mid twenties that’s what everyone seems to be concerned about.  I think the question that people should ask themselves is: “what do I not want to be?”, not try and reach for unrealistic goals. You can “want” to be a rock star all you want, it’s probably not going to happen. You can avoid doing things you don’t want to do and pursue a career that fits in with the life you want to live.

I finally feel like I’m ready to leave the corporate salary desk job behind and give my academic career a serious go. Wish me luck.

Leave a Reply

