#indiesvspewdiepie Game Jam with Arrogant Pixel – As it draws to a close

The Unfortunate Tale of Mr. Explosion Head is the title of the new game from Arrogant Pixel. I think we have physically done as much work as three people could do in 72 hours. I mean, we have barely slept but it is now finally, FINALLY coming together. I finished the artwork a few hours ago and my last contributions to the game have been pretty relaxed and finished in a comfortable time. Assad also has completed his work ahead of schedule and was able to leave a little early.

However, Ben is still furiously beating the keyboard next to me trying to pull the game together as we near the 5am deadline. It’s been a formative experience definitely. I have never been involved in a game jam before so it tested my digital art and time management skills to the limit.

Yesterday was absolutely crazy.  I’ve never done so much in such a short amount of time. Assad was doing some field recording with the zoom mic and composing all the tracks on his Nintendo DS and GameBoy. We now have a really awesome soundtrack to the game!

I’m so glad that I decided to do vector art for the game instead of attempting to digitally paint everything. It meant that I had a super fast work flow. I would sketch quickly with pencil and paper, take a picture of it on my phone and e-mail it to myself. Then I’d transfer the sketch to Illustrator and trace it. I love the flexibility of vector art. Just makes editing stuff and trying out colour combinations really quick to do on the fly. Sometimes that stuff is such a pain in the ass in photoshop.

As guilty as I feel for not doing ANY uni work like I planned this weekend, I’m so so happy.

So, if you want to see rocket grannies or floating spectral unicorn heads that shoot lasers, please do play the game. It’s free and will be available from GameJolt. Check out the links below.

VOTE FOR US: http://gamejolt.com/profile/arrogant-pixel/425732/

FACEBOOK: https://www.facebook.com/arrogantpixel
TWITTER: https://www.facebook.com/arrogantpixel

If you want to see our first blog entry, please click here!

Leave a Reply

