The Last Unicorn – A new discovery

I recently ordered an excellent book online called “Geek Wisdom: The Sacred Teachings of Nerd Culture”. On it’s recommendation, I dutifully googled “The Last Unicorn” written by Peter S. Beagle in 1968. It is considered an american classic and is commonly found on bookshelves next to Black Beauty and others in the pony book fiction genre. Don’t be turned off yet! The story itself is so stunning – the spiritual successor to Alice in Wonderland, Wizard of Oz, mix that all up with fantasy, romance and adventure. It’s my new favourite thing.

I started listening to the audio book online but couldn’t find a complete version. I stumbled onto a full-feature length animated movie that was created around the book in 1982. The artwork and animation is beautiful – I loved the music apart from a few songs that were a little cringey. I couldn’t ignore it, I’m sorry.

I’ll just provide a synopsis without giving away any major plot lines or spoilers. The unicorn is the protagonist of the story and when she learns from a magical talking butterfly that she might be the last of her kind, she leaves the safety of her enchanted forest home in search of others of her kind. On her journey she meets a magician called Schmendrick that agrees to help her on her quest.

After watching the movie, I really wish that I had read the book before I had seen it. I started getting so reeled in from the narration, I had to buy it so I could read it myself. Really looking forward to when it arrives! In the meantime, I hope you enjoy watching this. It’s still worth a watch if you’ve run out of things to do.

Leave a Reply

